Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have always been differences in types of work men and women have done. However, the trend in recent time for both men and women to have greater freedom of choice in terms of employment. Some people might say that there is no need to go further. However, in my view, gender quality should be encouraged.

There may indeed be good arguments for allowing certain jobs to remain predominantly males or females. For example patients in all female hospital word would having female nurses to look after them. It could be also argued that certain jobs requiring great physical strong for example, cool mining or logging and should continue to be full by male only.

However, making occupations more open to both gender has a great advantages. Male police, for example, may have greater understanding of violence and better range of strategies to deal with this problems. Similarly female primary school teachers have better understanding of young children need and can look after them more than males.

To sum up, to allow men or women for dominant occupation still an argument between people and to change this result may be subtle.