Write about the following topic:

Rich countries often give money to poorer countries, but it does not solve poverty. Therefore, developed countries should give other types of help to the poor countries rather than financial aid.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, a policy that is commonly adopted by the majority of developed countries is giving financial aid to the poorest ones, in the attempt to alleviate their economic sufferings. However, many people are still convinced that this is not the best way to help these nations, since little achievements have been seen, when compared to the efforts which have been made lately. Conversely, they insist that we should start giving them help through services in order to improve, firstly, the life quality of their citizen and, then, in a long-term, their financial problems. Personally, I firmly believe that the latter option is the most effective one because it allows us to better control where and how the sums are invested and to make wiser decisions on these concerns.

Firstly, I am convinced that giving liquids to poor nations is not a wise choice because their governments are usually not able to manage such high amounts and no benefit reaches their citizens. For instance, these countries often suffer from heavy national debts so, the first thing they do after having received the money, is to invest them to solve this kind of problem. As a consequence, albeit the financial aid which is given is massive, the population would not draw any beneficial effect from it.

Conversely, giving support through facilities would provide immediate benefit to society. As a matter of fact, a plethora of services can be offered. On the one hand, the first objective that we should bear in mind is the health of these people, who often suffer from bad alimentation and weak health care services. Hence, the building of new hospitals and of new structures for free food distribution will, undoubtedly, improve individuals' conditions. On the other hand, money ought to be invested for the future of the country, in order to improve their economy in the long-term. The best way to achieve this goal is by investing in the education of children. An example of solutions might be the building of universities and libraries and, additionally, the deployment of some scholarships to study in the most developed countries, with an obligation to come back after the degree has been earned.

In conclusion, I am convinced that if we really want to help the poorest countries, we should provide facilities, rather than money. Even though the latter policy is much easier than the former, the first one has immediate consequences on the population and, thus, the improvements, albeit they are not guaranteed, are likely to come earlier.