“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The argument provided by the author that strongly suggest to invest in Techcorporation may seem reasonable at a first glance. However, the evidence about its success and its future profits are weak and unprovable. Therefore, his thesis is fundamentally flawed and some more questions should be asked to the author in order to understand and to adjust the flawest points of his reasoning.

Firstly, he argues that Techcorporation is their top investiment during the last term. However, he has not provided any information about the reasons that made this company gain such a fundamental role. Thus, it is not clear why he is appreciating it that much, if beacuse of his general passion for satellites or because of some economics concerns. Investors would be far more interested on having information about the latter rather than the former so this question strongly need to be answered to strenghten the affidability of his argument.

Secondly, the writer provided evidence by quoting a survey that has be done about the satisfation rate on the current satellite provider. However, there is a lack of information about the population included in the research, which, to provide some trustable results, need to be geographically distributed. For instance, if just a small town with a poor satellite signal has been interviwed the data would reflect just partially the reality. For this reason, more information about the population analyzed with the survey should be asked to the author, so that every doubt can be flawed.

In conclusion, the author of the article has supported a thesis that is not well supported beause of the lack of deep evidence. However, by replying to some additional questions concerning the population and the affidability of the survey and the real reason because he considers Techcorporation a top investiment it could be well-reasoned to reach his conclusion that the company is a profitable investiment.