Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the

societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of

corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

The author of the statement provided above has reported two different views about the responsibility of corporations. In particular, the former argues that they should care more about the general welfare of their societies, while the latter affirms that they should only deal with members’ economic business.

As far as I am concerned, I tend to mostly agree with the first perspective, as an exclusive focus on the economy situation could lead to future troubles due to disorganization. In this essay I am going to explain deeply my own vision.

First of all, as I have already mentioned, it is fundamental to operate not only with the conscience of the present, but also keeping an eye warned on the future. To put it in another way: if corporations had as only objective the richness of the companies involved, the system would work just for a short time. Indeed, even if it may be argued that having much money is always an advantage, the truth of the matter is that, if the fortune is not properly managed, it may be wasted in an instant.

In addition, it is also important to keep in mind the historical aim of corporations, that is to coordinate the personal interests of involved companies. In particular, associations’ duty has been, since the origins, to keep in shape relationships among societies working in the same field. For this reason, it can be hard to imagine a corporation whose primary aim is to make money.

On the other side of the argument, the economy of the society should not be totally overlooked.

As a matter of fact, if several administrators realized that cooperation between different firms leads to mutual improvement, they would be more likely to continue leaning on one another. Some realistic examples of this are posters and trusts which help to avoid the monopoly of one single company.

In conclusion, I am entirely convinced that, even if it is deeply important for corporation to help their members to collaborate, the economic side of the argument should not be left aside, but it should be used as a way to make cooperation even stronger.