Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the

societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of

corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

In the statement provided above are provided two different views about the responsibility of corporations. In particular, the former argues that they should care more about the general welfare of their societies, while the latter affirms that they have just to worry about members’ economic business.

As far as I am concerned, I tend to mostly agree with the first perspective, as an exclusive focus on actual economy could bring to several future defeats. In this essay I am going to explain widely my vision.

First of all, as I have already mentioned, it is fundamental to operate not only with the conscience of the present, but also keeping an eye warned on the future. To put it in another way: if corporations have as only objective the richness of the companies involved, the system would work just for a short time. As a matter of fact, every member would want to become even richer and, furthermore, when economic targets promised are not reached, they would complain.

In addition, it is important to keep in mind the historical aim of corporation, that has always been the coordination of the personal interests of involved companies. In particular, associations’ duty has been, since the origins, to keep in shape relationships among societies working in the same field. For this reason, it can be hard imagining a corporation whose primary aim is to make money.

On the other side of the argument, the economy of the society should not be totally ignored since, if several administrators see mutual improvements gained with cooperation, they will be more likely to continue leaning on one another.

In conclusion, I am entirely convinced that even it is deeply important for corporation to help their members to collaborate, the economic side of the argument should not be left in a part, but it should be used as a way to make cooperation even stronger.