Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is an open question whether the entity of punishments for people who go against the law should depend on the circumstances that have led to the crime, or if they should be universal. While it may be true that some crimes should be equally punished to not overcomplicate the judgment of every single case, I strongly believe that the most serious crimes should be judged one by one.

On the one hand, punishing in the same way people who are guilty of the same crime has two advantages. It is simpler, since once a judgment is been done for one case, it does not have to be done again for other similar situation. In addition, it also deters people from committing a certain crime. If the years of jail of the sum that should be paid for a certain infraction is well known, individuals will know clearly the consequence that their bad action would have, and they could previously understand that it would not be convenient to commit a crime.

On the other hand, giving different punishments depending on the circumstances could be a fairer approach in some situations. As a matter of fact, an organized crime is very different from an accidental killing. Even though these two events have the same results, the criminal could have been more or less willing to commit it, and thus its punishment should vary. For example, a driver who has an accident that involves the death of an individual should not have the same judgment of a terrorist that decides intentionally to kill somebody. As a matter of fact, while the former would not be a problem for society in the future, the latter would commit the crime again, if not correctly punished.

In conclusion, crimes should be judged more or less objectively depending on their gravity. For the smallest ones, such as bullism, graffiti on the walls and vehicles’ infractions, the punishment should be strict and equal for everybody. Nevertheless, when moving to more serious ones, circumstances should be taken into consideration and every single case should be judged apart from others.