Some people pursue career paths that lead to management positions. Other people follow career paths leading to positions of individual responsibility, which do not involve managing others.

Which career path are you more likely to follow?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today there are mainly two kind of career’s options. A first one involves mostly the organization of what other people have to do and the evaluation of how well they operate. The other one is more focused on each person's own work and how well he is doing individually. Even if they both are needed in the current working scene, the differences between them are significant and I would prefer the ladder to the former for mainly two reasons.

First, I am eager to know even more about how this world works and, thus, I am deeply focused on my personal growth rather than others'. As a matter of fact, I am taking into consideration the option of doing a PhD after I will have finished my bachelor and master studies in order to expand my knowledge in my area of interest and to understand all the aspects that at the moment are still partially unclear. Even if working alone gives you more responsibility to handle, I would surely prefer to take some risks rather than losing my autonomy.

In addition, I believe that coordinating a group of different people is a really difficult task and that, in order to do it, you must have a natural inclination in relating with others. Thus, even if I love spending my time with other people, I do not think I would be able to rightly achieve this task. For instance, if I had to correct an employee because he did a wrong task that had some bad consequences on my firm's business, I think I would just get angry and disappointed with him without solving the real problem.

In conclusion, the choice of the working position mostly depends on the personality of each individual. To my mind, I believe that I would better suit in a career in which I do not have to manage other people's work because by doing that I would be able to be more focused on my own activity and I needn't to struggle with other employees to correct their errors.