An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author of the sentence above argues that an ailing patient should have the access to a database containing all the data which concernes the previous patients of a particular doctor and the disease treated. As far as I am concerned, I tend to strongly agree with his opinion for at least two main reasons.

First of all, the adoption of this system will allow the patients to find the best doctor in the shortest time. As a matter of fact many of the affected have the need to be seen from a sanitary as soon as possible to contain the spread of their injury. For this reason they usually do not have enough time to take the best decision and they go just to the nearest or to the most available one. The implementation of a database system will totally solve this problem and it will help the patients to save precious time.

On the other hand, it could be argued that this kind of database would be difficult to control because some information involved may not be true. That is the reason why this system should not be adopted just in some particular places, but worldwide. Furthermore, the control of the world sanity should be taken into account from the World Health Organization that has to become a primarly organ. It is only by implementing a worldwide-standardized plan like that we will be able to deal with sanitary problems. For instance, someone with a particular medical condition should have the opportunity not only to search for the best doctor in his city, but also to the best one of his country or of his continent whether needed. Everyone must have at least the right to make the right choices for what concerns his health.

In conclusion, agreeing with the writer of the claim, I strongly believe that, since our health is the most serious issue we have to deal with throught our life, we have the responsability to improve our global system as far as it is possible. For this reason, even if the implementing of the database system involved could be seen just as a small step, it will have a wide importance in the process of the improvement of our sanitary organ.