In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Today, high school students are more likely to do university abroad than they were in the last century. Even if this opportunity can increase undoubtedly the quality of their education, they should keep in mind some drawbacks, such as the increment of expenditures for their families and the widening of the technologic gap between poorer and richer nations.

On the one hand, studying abroad is an incredible experience for young people. It enables them to learn other languages, to discover new cultures and to become independent. During their adventure abroad, they become more responsible and having interactions with people from different nationalities, make them more open-minded. Furthermore, they can choose the best place to study the sector of their interest, increasing the overall quality of their education and, thus, their interest and motivation toward their future work.

On the other hand, studying abroad also brings significant drawbacks. First, parents have to spend more money to finance the studies of their offspring since they would have to pay not only the university’s fees, but also accommodation and food expenses. By contrast, when people were used to study in their hometown, these expenditures were reduced to the minimum. Second, this phenomenon is likely to increase the differences between countries. As a matter of fact, even more brilliant citizens leave their nation to move to a more developed one and so the most the dominance of certain nations over others is predicted to increase.

In conclusion, studying abroad is a wonderful opportunity for students that will have lifelong benefits on their lives. However, before deciding to leave their country they need to be aware of the consequences that their actions will have on the future of their family and of their mother nation.