In fall 2010, the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) stepped up its security efforts in US airports by incorporating random full-body searches as part of its counterterrorism efforts. These full-body searches were a response to the refusal of some people to accept the use of full-body scanners, which were judged by some to be excessively revealing. The chief of the TSA and the secretary of state both stated that, while they acknowledge every citizen’s desire for privacy, this desire must be considered in balance with safety measures. However, whatever safety full-body searches provide is not a reasonable tradeoff for the invasion of privacy that citizens must now suffer, so the TSA must abandon such measures.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The argument that TSA should ease the strong counterterrorism measures introduced in the fall 2010 in order to respect citizens privacy may seem reasonable at first glance. However, some evidences provided are not that clear and some information should be added in order to strengthen the main claim. Therefore, the author of this advice should address some questions.

First, it is not clear how a random full-body searches works. No data are provided to make clearer the meaning of the word random and to understand the proportion of people who are controlled. On one side, if this number is too low, it would be not reasonable to maintain this additional policy. On the other side, in the opposite situation, if the number of controls done is extremely high, nothing would change from doing a mandatory one. As well as in the former situation, no benefits would be given by this new policy and, thus, it should be abandoned.

In addition, the author has to make clearer the will of the people. For instance, he stated that some people did not accept the use of full body scanner, but he did not mention their attitude about random full-body searches. This information will be crucial to understand whether the new system would be considered mostly as a solution to a previous problem or just as a new critical point. In order to answer this question, the author should make a survey in the USA airports asking the direct opinion of people who experimented both the systems. If people preferred the classical system of full-body scanner to the new system, this would another evidence that would support his thesis.

Furthermore, he needs to analyze whether these security measures are working well and if they are really needed in all the airports. In order to do that the change in numbers of terroristic attacks should be analyzed and in, particular, he should analyze the changes during the years in which the security system has changed. Moreover, he should catch some data in order to understand if such a terrorist precaution is really needed in the USA's airports. In order to do that he should make some reports about the number of attacks in the airports in the last years related to the overall amount. If this number was not that substantial the TSA would be able to ease the controls.

In conclusion, the author is not totally wrong in supporting the argument that the TPA should abandon the strict counterterrorism measures it has adopted lately. However, his reasoning has many weak points that should be strengthened by answering to some questions. First, he needs to clarify how the random full-body searches works and, in particular, he should underline what the word random means. In addition, he should collect travelers’ opinion about the new measure introduced and understand whether they prefer it to the former one. Last, he should provide more data about the terroristic attacks in the USA's airport in order to understand if this problem must be taken into serious consideration or not. Only when he would have answered to all these questions his reasoning will be completely correct.