So long as they are aware of the dangers involved, adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is often argued that laws concerning the must to keep the seat belt fasten while travelling on a car should be limited by age, since adults are able to understand the entity of every risk they are facing and they are able to take this kind of decision by their own. However, even if this claim could seem reasonable at first glance, in fact it could lead to many drawbacks.

First, even if, generally speaking, adults are always wise and able to understand whether they are taking a risk or not, we should make a distinction when we talk about driving. In fact, in the roads drivers' behavior does not depend only on themselves but also on how other people are driving. For this reason, even if someone is supposed to be the best driver in the world he cannot know in advance if he is going to meet the worst one and if he is going to have a car accident with him while driving. Even if this can seem just a worst case scenario, it should be taken into serious consideration because people who are terrible at driving are much more of people who are good at it. All this is to say that since it is really difficult to evaluate ourself's ability to drive and even supposing we are good driver other people could not be that skilled, the fast of the seat belt must remain mandatory for everybody.

In addition, the implementation of this policy would be much difficult to be managed. In fact, the definition of what the word "adult" means should be clarified by putting an age cutoff. Suppose for example to consider adults people who are older than 23. By doing that it would be much difficult for police to understand if a person who is not wearing the seat belt is allowed to do so or not. Therefore, since it is not possible to make a check stopping every single car on the road, the seat beat's rule would hbe likely not to be respected by the youngest.

On the other side of the argument, it is true to say that it is way more confortable to drive without having the seat belt fasten, especially while making short trip. However, the risk to put our life in danger during accident is too high and ,thus, the drawbacks of such a law would strongly overweight its benefits.

In conclusion, people are not completely wrong arguing that with the change of this law their quality of driving would get better. However, while thinking about its practical consequences, a deeper reasonment should be done. Firstly, the risk of death or of bad medical diseases for car accidents would rise dramatically, since people would not be protected anymore from the power of the airbag and from all other factors deriving from a car accident. Secondly, many troubles will be found during the implementation because it does not exist any instrument that allows us to understand just with a fast sight whether a person in a car is an adult of not and, thus, it would be almost impossible to force people who are not adults to respect the law.