In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Today, fast food are becoming more and more popular and, unsurprisingly, the number of people affected by health diseases is increasing. To my mind, the only way governments can try to solve this problem is by taxing the price of unhealthy foods. The taxation would have two main consequences on societies’ attitudes.

Firstly, junk food would lose one of its main features: its convenience. As a matter of fact, people do not buy junk food simply because of its delicious taste, but primarly because it provides complete meals at a really cheap price. For this reason, individuals, in particular the ones from the lowest social classes, do not have the financial availability to buy vegetables or fruits and opt for unhealthy food. Therefore, if fast food were taxed many citizens would avoid it and, thus, they health conditions would improve.

In addition, if governments decided to impose the taxation, many people would take this problem more seriously. As a matter of fact I am convinced that the highest percentage of the people who usually eats fast food is not aware of the bad consequences they have on their health. This taxation would make it clear that unhealthy eating is a serious problem and so, it would help to raise awareness and not to underestimate this serious problem.

In conclusion, I believe that governments should impose a strict taxation on fast food because it would be the only solution to reduce its consumption and, thus, problems on consumers’ health. The introduction of this policy not only will help people to become deeplier aware of this problem, but also it would make junk food more expensive and so less accessible.