The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, we are completely immersed in a connected world, which has been realized thanks to the invention of the Internet. Even if this may represent an occasion to maintain relationships between people who are geographically distant, it could also bring some individuals to self-isolation and depression.

On the one hand, the internet is allowing people to remain connected to all the individuals they have met throughout their life. Thanks to social networks, we have the opportunity to meet again old friends, who, otherwise, we would not have seen again. An example of this is Aqylla, a Singaporean girl that I have met a decade ago in a sailing regatta. In 2019 she came to visit Milan with her family and, thanks to Instagram, she knew that I was living in Milan and we were able to meet again after a very long time.

On the other hand, internet may also be a dangerous resource. In fact, it is common, especially among lonely people, to use social networks to live through the adventures of others, such as models, actors and influencers. As a consequence, they tend to isolate themselves even more, gaining satisfaction by looking at others’ lives as they were living the facts reported in first person. For example, especially during the lockdown, many people have stopped thinking about themselves since they have started to live through Instagram stories and directs shared by famous people such as Chiara Ferragni, Fedez and Caterina Zanzi.

In conclusion, I personally think that Internet is an extremely useful invention, which helps to maintain connections among people, but it must be used wisely and consciously. In order to do so, users need to clearly understand the distinction between concrete and virtual reality, without replacing the former with the latter.