Our past experiences shape the way we look at people and the world around us.

What are some of the experiences that have shaped your outlook and the way you live now?

Use specific examples to support your answer.

Past experiences and in particular past choices strongly influence our personality and our behaviour in everyday life. Personally, there have been two main facts that have changed my mindset and my scale of value so far.

The first one is my sport career. I have been saling at a high level for 14 years, travelling around the world for trainings and regattas. The first thing that I have learnt is resilience. To put it in another words: if you really believe in something you do not have to give up on it, even when everything is against you. Another lesson I have learnt is the sense of duty and responsabilty, not only for myself but also for other people and for the nature. As a consequence, today I feel really involved in earth care and I consider myself as an empathic person.

The second experience that has shaped deeply my personality is moving to Milan. When I was 14 I decided to move from Cagliari to Milan with my father because of my sailing career and other family problems. This change made me reflect a lot on many aspects. In particular it has been fundamental for me because I developed a personality and an indipendency both from places and people. I have learnt that even if friends are really important in our life, we should not rely on them, but only on ourselves. Moreover, I discovered that we do not depend on the environment in which we are living, but just on who we are in our inner soul. Thus, the greatest outcome of this happening was learning how my personality was, freed from every social influence. In my opinion, this perception of myself currently shapes my everyday actions and the way I take decisions.

In conclusion, even if every moment of our life has some consequences on our personality, some of them are more important than others. In particular, my sailing career has helped me to develop a knowledge of the importance of other people and nature while the change of city made me realize the importance of myself and of my personality.