You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

You should write at least 250 words.

Many studies in the field of psicology have always confirmed that colours are able to deeply influence our feelings. As a consequence, it is reasonable to choose carefully the range of tonalities used in the decoration of specific enviroments, depending on their future usage and on the emotion they should convey to visitors. For example, the coloration of an office may be done using tones able to increase workers' concentration level, whereas hospitals may be decorated with warm tones, in order to create a relaxing atmosphere. Personally, I firmly believe that much attention should be given at the intern decoration in order to build an environment that perfectly suits its own role.

For instance, during the building of a hospital many factors should be taken into consideration when choosing the colours of the rooms, depending on their function. Thus, the rooms used for surgeries will have different tones than the patients bedrooms with the former depicted with active tones, to increase the level of concentration of the doctors, and the latter with warm colours, to facilitate patients relaxation. In a similar way, the colours of an office will be similiar to the ones of the surgery room, so that productivity will be boosted.

Moreover, I am convinced that colours can have a enormous influence not only on the productivity but also on the health of individuals. As a matter of fact, many terapies based on colours are spreading, with the different light and tones that are even more able to cure both mental and physical diseases. These terapies have become possible after many studies that has linked the single colours with the neurological reaction that it causes on human body.

In conclusion, it is extremely important to dedicate the right attention to the choice of the colours, when projecting an environment. As a matter of fact, it is fundamental to relate this choice with the kind of feelings that the single place must suggest to its user.