Write about the following topic.

Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

An increasing number of universities, even the most famous as MIT and Stanford, is starting to offer online courses and degrees, beside the on-campus ones. This development process has been particularly boosted after the spread of the outbreak, that has made it mandatory to provide courses on the internet, so that students who have not the availability to go physically to the university, can still follow their lectures online. Personally, I am convinced that the opportunity to earn an online-degree is life-changing for many categories of individuals and, even if it is not the best option for everybody, it is a positive development for our society as a whole, since it makes education more accesible.

First, online courses can be particularly convenient for people who travel a lot and who do not have a fixed place in which they stay all over the year. For them, it would otherwise be impossible to attend an university, since they would miss the majority of the lessons and, moreover, they would not be able to take their exams. An example of this are athletes, who need to move to many places to do trainings and so, in the majority of the times, decide not to study at university. Moreover, they will be extremely helped by an online delivery of lectures, since the timetable would be more flexible, as they would be able to listen the lecture in the evening, after having trained.

In addition, benefits would be provided also to poor people who live in the countryside. In the past, children from these humil families were always forced to leave their studies after high school, since they both do not have the funds to sustain a life in an urban center with a university and they had to help their relatives with their cultivations or their farms. Now, especially in the wealthiest regions, the situation has quite changed, albeit the problem persists in the less developed zones, where education is not accessible to the majority of the youngest. Therefore, online courses may completely change this trend, giving the opportunity to study even to the offspring of farmers and agriculters. As a matter of fact, they would be able to follow lectures comfortably from their home, while working for their family business.

In conclusion, even if they are not suitable for everybody, I consider online courses a brilliant mean to make education accessible at new categories, such as athletes, land and farm workers, since they give the opportunity to access to lectures wherever and whenever they want, allowing them to continue doing their primary activity.