Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online Is this a positive or negative development

Some universities currently provide Internet-based courses as the alternatives for conventional learning models. This trend, in many cases, should be more beneficial.

Online courses would almost surely reduce financial pressure for students. This is given that money, except for tuition fee, is frequently spent on rudimentary needs, such as daily traveling, extracurricular activities, or uniform, which would not put stress on students choosing to follow the lectures through an online platform at home. As a consequence, studying online, compared to schooling, can save such pupils a significant amount of expenditure, especially for those who want to do oversea courses. For example, my sister, a Vietnamese student, desired to attend X University, which is located in America, so far from my country. To that end, she, who was from a humble background and failed to obtain scholarship grants, needed a significant amount of spending, ranging from tuition to traveling, daily expenses, and accommodation, ruining her dream. Fortunately, X University offered online learning program, so she took an opportunity to enroll an MBA about Applied Linguistics, which would have been unfeasible in those days when Internet-based education was not popular.

Although I mostly support the aforementioned point, to play the devil’s advocate, I would entertain a counter-argument. Admittedly, studying online might believably cause distractions, leading to worse academic outcome. Since students are not supervised by teachers and study in their comfort zones, they tend to be distracted by some temptations, like smartphones or games, which is considered to negatively affect their performance. Nonetheless, even in this case, I would say that online learning merely contributes to the bad situation, but does not cause it. Apart from studying online, those who lack concentration and determination are inclined to be neglected in whatever they do. In other words, people always find a way to do what they want to do. To exemplify this point of view, I, during the Covid-19 pandemic period, when people prevent the spread of such contagious disease by maintaining a social distance, had to take online courses. Initially, I had difficulty in focusing on the lecture given the freedom when studying at home, but subsequently, I removed anything distracting me, such as putting off my phone into airplane mode, in order to make myself fully concentrated on the lectures. Thanks to my discipline, I achieved an academic result as good as those when schooled.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I believe that studying online would be a positive development.