Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that universities opened the way for online courses. Despite there are drawbacks against the internet-based education, I strongly believe that it has more benefits.

There are many arguments against studying online. Firstly, less direct interaction is the most common problem. As students will not have the chance to communicate with their teachers, they will depend on typing to send their questions or to receive their answers. The communication between colleagues also will not exist. In the classrooms, students tend to discuss their opinions or exchange their ideas, but using the web for learning makes this social gathering disappear. Secondly, the competition between colleagues is not present online, so students will not be motivated to progress or upgrade their performance. Finally, many fake diplomas and courses are present nowadays. The hackers could steal people’s money through credit cards or their personal accounts.

In spite of the cons mentioned above, I think that the online study has many advantages. Firstly, learning has become more convenient. A student can study at his own pace, he can select his schedule at his appropriate time or appropriate place. Secondly, this revolutionary method paved the way for many people to learn, regardless of the age, gender or race. For example, my uncle who is 69 years old, applied to a diploma in community health online. Finally, the cost of admission to universities has decreased, as applicants do not need to go to the university facilities.

In conclusion, online learning could have drawbacks, but its benefits are more.