Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online Is this a positive or negative development

It is undeniable that online courses have gained huge popularity in most tertiary education institutions’ curriculum. This point, in my opinion, is a positive trend considering that it offers students not only flexible but also time-saving and money-saving learning programs.

First, given the flexibility of schedule, such study courses should allow students to study in a flexible way. That would encourage them to learn at their own pace and at times that would be much more suitable, helping them acquire and broaden their knowledge more easily. Better still, when online lectures are recorded via online learning platforms, such as Google Meet or Microsoft Teams, learners would easily review the lectures when needed in a way that physical classes cannot offer. If it were you, would you advocate this kind of learning?

Second, universities’ internet - based courses would offer students the saving of time and money. The idea for this is that they would not have to pay much attention to the commuting to in-person classes and campus expenses. Moreover, the tuition for online learning programs should be lower than that for on-campus programs. For instance, Anna, my sister, only had to pay 1000 USD within nearly three years to attain an MBA degree via an online course in a different country, which is more advantageous than any in-person courses of Vietnamese universities.

In conclusion, I believe that the offering of online courses at some universities is a positive development given that it would make education become more convenient in terms of flexible schedules and the saving of time and money.