The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

The claim that advertising should be boosted in order to reach a wider public with Super Screen Movies' films may seem logical at first glance. However, while supporting his thesis the adverting director relies on unsupported assumptions that reviewers are honest while writing their report and that advertise will reach people in the right way. Therefore, his argument is illogical and fundamentally flawed.

First, the author argues that, since the positive reviews are increased during the past years, people are appreciating more and more the quality of the service provided by Super Screen Movie Production Company. However, reviewers often fill the report fast in order to lose less time and, thus, they are likely to report positive impressions even if they are not happy with the service provided. For instance, it would be possible that, during the past year, the company has forced its clients to make a review on all the film watched and, for this reason, it would be unsurprising to observe a grow in positive reviews. For these reasons, in order to decide whether his idea can be reasonable, we must have more information about how the reviews have been taken during the past year.

In addition, while saying that more money should be invested in advertising in order to boost his company's own business the advising director has not provided any data about the real impact that advertisement have on clients in this particular field. Moreover, since the increasing in positive reviews had not a positive impact on the company business it may be possible that people do not care about them and, thus, they are not likely to listen to the advertisment as well.

In conclusion, if the author will provide deeper information and studies concerning the real impact of advertisment it would be reasonable to invest a great share of the company's budget on that.