The United States of America should dispense with the Electoral College. At present, the president and vice president are selected in a process that does not give equal weight to all voters. Apart from Maine and Nebraska, states select electoral votes based upon a winner-take-all system. Because states have disproportionate populations, the weight of votes is worth more in some states than in others, particularly in swing states (in which no candidate is clearly favored). The campaign process then marginalizes large states that are considered “safe” (such as California for the Democrats or Texas for the Republicans), with candidates focusing instead on swing states, privileging some citizens’ votes over others. Additionally, the winner of the electoral vote will not always necessarily win the popular vote. This is fundamentally undemocratic and unfair, and it must be stopped.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims that the United States of America should change their electoral system in order to make it more democratical and fair, may seem reasonable and well-supported at first glance. However the author relies on evidence that is not completely clear and, thus, in order to strengthen his claim, he should address some questions.

First, while describing how the electoral process works in the country, he made a differentation as he wrote about the Maine and the Nebraska. It is not clear by reading his text what is the plan applied there. This information, if given, could even help the support of his thesis. Suppose for example that these two countries are applying a different kind of system, based more on the equality of votes and, thus, more democratic. In case it is working well it could be an example for the whole United States and it would provide some practical evidence that the implementation of the reccomendation would be in fact reasonable.

In addition, he needs to clarify how many swing states are present in the USA. In case they represented just a small proportion of the others, the problem denounced by the author would not be big enough in order to change the whole electoral system of the country. For these reason in order to raise more credibility he has to give further information about the particulars of the problems experienced by voters from these countries and about how big is their influence from an overall view.

Furthermore, the author should give a deeper explaination of what he was meaning in last-by-one stentence. As a matter of fact, he wrote that in many circumstances the electoral vote is not related with the popular one. In fact it is not clear whether he was meaning that other burocratics changes are applied to citizens votes or he was still focused on his main arhument. For these reason, some questions in order to clarify this point should be asked to the author and they would be again a huge opportunity to increase the trustability of his thesis.

In conlusion the author is not totally wrong when stating that the USA's electoral system should be completely changed in order to guaranteed more equality and fairly. However, he should strengthen more the evidence provided by answering to some question in order to make some points clearer. First, he should give further information for all that concerns the electoring system of the quoted states of Maine and Nebraska since their model could be taken into consideration as the next American's one. In addition he must answer to a question regarding the swing states, providing data about their influence on the overall system, in order to understand if such a drastic change is really needed. Last, the author must explain the meaning of the sentence in which he argues that in some cases the winner of the electoral votes is not the same of the winner of the popular's one. This explaination would make clearer if other burocratic problems occur even after everybody has votes. Only when we would have answered to all these questions, his recommendation would be reasonable.