The problem of poor teacher performance that has plagued the state’s public school systems is bound to become a good deal less serious in the future. The state has initiated comprehensive guidelines that oblige teachers to complete a number of required credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level before being certified.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumption proves unwarranted.

The author of the claim above argues that the introduction of some extra courses concerning the educational field at the graduate level will be likely to substantially improve the quality of public-school teaching. Anyway, while supporting his thesis he has provided poor and shallow evidence that can be easily weakened.

Firstly, he wrote about the poor performances of public teachers, but he did not analyze what they depend on. Without having this information, we are not able to understand which area of their formation should be strengthened. So, even if their educational formation would be improved by the introduction of the course he has suggested, it is not well-reasoned to assume that their overall skillset, and thus their ability as a teacher, would get better. For instance, if their weaknesses were mostly in the knowledges of their specific subject, not only any advantages would not be introduced by this measure, but also lot of national funds would be wasted.

On the other side of the argument, if we even try to assume for a moment that teacher’s difficulties only concern the educational part, we have no evidence that the measures will have the positive consequences predicted by the author. As a matter of fact, no additional data regarding experiments or studies on this topic has been provided in his sentence. All this is to say that, even if on one hand the introduction of these measures will give more theorical skills to the educators, nobody has the certainty that their gained skills will be applied to the everyday teaching.

In conclusion, if the author had provided some data about the teachers’ main points of weakness and he had given some confirms that the courses concerned will give practical improvement to the education’s quality, his argument would have been complete and correct. However, just few information is given in the text and the points of uncertainty strongly overweight the ones of strength.