Children should not be forced by law to be educated by either public schools or home schooling if their parents do not wish them to be.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is often argued that the education of children, in schools or at home, should not be mandatory by law and that parents should take this decision for their children. Even if this claim could seem reasonable at first glance, many drawbacks would occur in its implementation and in many situations the rights of the children would not be respected.

First, the education provided in the schools is not all about teaching children a huge amount of theorical notions in order to make their culture wider. Rather it is much more something that concerns their personal growth. In fact, when pupils start going to school they get automatically involved in an environment that is totally different from the one they are used to frequent, that is the familiar one. This situation help them to develop one of the most important abilities they will learn in all their life: the ability of adapting themselves to a new situation. For this reason, schools and education in general should be promoted not only beacuse the professional growth they provide, but especially for the personal one.

In addition, implementing this policy could mean putting in danger the future of many children. As a matter of fact, especially in the developing countries, this policy would have as main result that children would be forced to work for their family business and to abandon their education. As a consequence, these poor children would lose forever the chance to decide what they want to do in their life, since, without studying, they would be forced to do the same work for all their existence. Of course it can be argued that many of them would love to help their family by working for them but, anyway, doing this, they will lose permanently their chance to have a free will.

On the other side of the argument, many people could believe that since, generally speaking, parents are mature and wise, they should be able to understand which is the best choice for their children. Of course this claim can be true in most of the globalized countries, but since this policy concerns the whole world, a more complex reasoning should be done. In fact, removing the mandatory education would put many children in danger. Therefore, the drawbacks overweight the benefits and, thus, it would be better not to implement this policy at least in the developing countries.

In conclusion, people who are strongly convinced that the obligation of education for children should be removed, are not completely wrong in their reasoning. However, even if some people would benefit from its implementation, the majority would just see its drawbacks. Firstly, going to school is important not just for the theorical education that is provided, but to make children understand the rules of living in a society and of adapting themselves in a situation way different from their usual one. In addition, many children from the least developed countries will lose forever the opportunity to have an education since the would be forced by their family to work since the youngest ages.