Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community. Compare the advantages of living in university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in the community. Where would you prefer to live? Give reasons for your preference.

Every university student who decides to live on his own has to choose whether he prefers staying in the dormitories or in an apartment outside the campus. Each of these choices has its benefits and its drawbacks and the final decision depends mostly on the personality of each student.

On one hand, university housing could be a good deal for introverted people who have some difficulties while socializing with others. As a matter of fact, this option would force them to communicate and to create relationships with their roommates, and it would eventually improve their social skills. However, this choice is the right one also for extroverted people who are looking for friends who share the same academic interests. Indeed, living in a dorm would give them the opportunity to meet students from their same university and, sometimes, who have interests in the same major.

However, many pupils still prefer to live in private apartments, outside the campus. This choice is commonly due to a better autonomy and a quieter lifestyle. For instance, many campuses have some strict rules about the time you can have access to your room and about how many people you can invite. Therefore, the choice to live in an apartment would better fit if you do not want to lose your autonomy. Furthermore, the rooms of a university campus are very noisy since in many cases the space provided is small and shared with many people. Consequently, if you appreciate silence and you love studying at home, this could be the best option for you. Even if it seems to have many benefits, living outside the campus could be difficult if you do not like commuting to go to lessons.

In conclusion, the choice of the place to live while studying at university is very personal. Whereas living in the dormitories provides more occasions to socialize and to stay in the university scene, a private apartment is a more quiet and independent choice. Personally, I would prefer living outside the university because I hate having strict rules and, even if I like having an active social life, I prefer to keep some moments for myself.