In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores.Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.

The author of the sentence above, while supporting his thesis, has provided arguments that are generally not well-supported and that can be easily refuted. As a matter of fact, at least three logical problems can be found in his argumentation.

First of all, the writer is strongly convinced that the finances of his activity would get in a better shape after the decrement of operative expenses. However, while it may be argued that this change would bring a growth in his business, any proof is openly provided. For instance, even if the author has mentioned about what he has already done in one of his stores, he has not reported any further information about the general financial results gained. To put it in another way: even if he has mentioned the cut down of the operating expenses, on the other side, he has not provided enough information to analyze whether the overall economy has been improved.

In addition, it is not clear whether the choice of closing at 6:00 PM is worthy or not. Any statistic is reported about the part of the day in which most of the deal are made. As the grounds which have led to this decision are not discussed, the incomes of Movies’s Galore may not be significantly improved.

Last, the owner of the company, after affirming that a rise in prices would compromise his shop’s reputation, has not analyzed deeply enough this option. Indeed, while it may be agreed that increasing prices is generally bad for a shop’s economy, it is also true that it could the right reaction to a general change in video reantal’s cost range.

Although he has affirmed that by, his reputation would be compromised, we should consider that if the competition prices is quite higher, an increment would be accepted as proportioned with the general target of prices.

In conclusion, I am entirely convinced that, if more data about the profits of the store in downtown Marston had been reported and if more different options were taken into consideration, the argument would have been well-proved. However, enough evidence is not provided and the author’s assumption are just partially correct.