In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.

The author of the sentence above, while supporting his thesis, has provided arguments that are generally not well-supported and that can be easily refuted. As a matter of fact, at least three logical problems can be found in his argumentation.

First of all, the writer is strongly persuaded that the finances of his activity would get in a better shape by decreamenting operative expenses. However, while it may be argued that this change would bring a growth in his business, no evidence is given. For instance, even if the author has mentioned about the measures that have been taken in one of his stores, he has not reported any further information about the financial results gained.

In addition, it is not clear whether the choice of closing at 6:00 PM is worthy or not. No statistic is reported about the part of the day in which most of the deals are made. As the grounds which have led the owner to this decision are not discussed in the text above, the incomes of Movies’s Galore may not be significantly improved. For instance, as many people finish working around 6pm, they may not be able to get in the shop on time and that would heat even stronger the economy situation of the company.

Last, the owner of the company, after affirming that a rise in prices would compromise his shop’s reputation, has not analyzed deeply enough this option. Indeed, while it may be agreed that increasing prices is generally bad for a shop’s economy, it is also true that it could be the right reaction to a general change in video rental’s costs range.

In conclusion, I am entirely convinced that, if more data about the profits of the store in downtown Marston were reported and if more different options to recover economically were taken into consideration, the argument would have been well-proved. However, the information given are too vague, so the author’s assumptions are just partially correct.