Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community. Where would you prefer to live? Give reasons for your preference.

On deciding which university to enrol in for higher education, the next most important concern arises, where to live? Some people prefer to live in university dormitory while others find it more comfortable to live in community apartment. Dormitory has the advantage of student safety; saving money spent in long commutes; opportunity of professional networking; whereas, in apartments, you can choose your roommate; there is no restriction for parents to come anytime and stay with you and you can cook your own food. Considering the benefits, I would like to live in university dormitory for the following reasons.

To begin with, university living houses are within the campus which makes an easier commute to the college. Unlike, commuting from apartments, commuting within the campus saves a lot of time and money. For instance, when I was a freshman in university, I lived with my grand-father in an apartment which was around 10 miles away from the university. Due to couple of signals on the way, it was 28 min drive to the college. Thus, I would just waste my time in driving every day for an hour. In addition, I had to pay for car’s fuel and maintenance. However, my friends living in the dormitory would wake up late in the morning and still reach for the class in 5 min. Also, as the classes were just 2 buildings away, they dint need any vehicle to drive them to college. As you can see, living in dormitory can save a lot of your precious time and the resources.

Moreover, staying in dormitory after classes gives you an opportunity to make friends of same profession. This helps you expand your social and professional network which is otherwise not possible when living in an apartment. For example, when my sister stepped in the university, she chose to live in dormitory. Within no time, she got comfortable with her class mates and was friends with seniors. Whenever she faced difficulty while study during the exams, she would reach out to her seniors to clear her doubts. Also, she got along with one of her friends, Tina for group study. After coming back from the college, both of them would revise the course covered on that day in the class. Following graduation, my sister and Tina started a clinic together in partnership, which is now one of the renowned family clinics in my home town. On the other hand, being in an apartment, I couldn’t make such strong and long lasting professional connections back in university.

In conclusion, I feel that living in university housing is more beneficial. This is because it saves you a lot of money and time; and because, living there gives you chance to form useful connections with people within the professional field.