The problem of poor teacher performance that has plagued the state's public school systems is bound to become a good deal less serious in the future. The state has initiated comprehensive guidelines that oblige teachers to complete a number of required credits in education and educational psychology at the graduate level before being certified. Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that the problem of poor teacher performance will result in a positive outcome in future. He based his conclusion on the fact that the state has come up with proper guidelines that force teachers to complete graduate-level courses in education and educational psychology before being certified. This conclusion, however, rests on three unfounded assumptions that if not properly evaluated, substantially weakens the persuasiveness of the author's argument.

First, the author assumes that the issue of poor teacher performance is as a result of the incompetence of teachers in education and educational psychology-related activities. This might not be the case as a teacher's performance could also be affected by other contributing factors. For instance, the very large class size which is rife in the state public schools could affect a teacher's performance. Even when a teacher is very vast in educational psychology, a large class size hampers such a teacher's performance. Also, the lack of proper teaching aids and facilities, which is again evident in the state public school is another factor that affects a teacher's performance. If either of the above assumptions proves true, then the author's argument is intangible.

Second, the author presumes that the initiated guidelines will be comprehensive enough not to condone malpractices and other illegal acts that may jeopardise the need for certification. Perhaps, most of the teachers might decide to contract the certification exercise to their other colleagues, who will do it in proxy, thereby scoring very high and defeating the purpose of the exam. It might also be the case that the examination is not standard enough and will just be a repeat of past questions which will not test the teacher's ability. If the author can, without prejudice, ascertain the standard of the guideline created, this will help to improve the persuasiveness of the argument.

Lastly, the author assumes that the teachers will accept to follow the stated guidelines for taking a graduate-level course. Maybe, many of the teachers are not convinced enough of the need to take the required credit courses and will instead ought for teaching jobs in other states where such guidelines are not in place. It might also be the case that the teachers cannot afford the fees and also would not borrow to the courses since they are not overly convinced to do so. If this is the case, then the author's conclusion is substantially flawed and does not hold water.

In conclusion, it might be true that taking graduate-level courses in education and educational psychology will improve a teacher's performance. However, the author's conclusion, as it stands now, is flawed. Hence more pieces of evidence need to be provided to make the argument more persuasive.