The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young people are often said to be the leaders of tomorrow. Indeed, they demonstrate strength, vigour and zeal, which if not put in the right use, may disrupt the society. The prompt suggests that society should prepare its young people by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt and argue that cooperation and not competition should be taught to the youth as it enhances growth and takes away cultural differences.

First, cooperation encourages growth. When cooperation exists within a group of people, it brings to the table versatility and then a proper division of Labour. In the industry today, people from various field are required to perform a task. For example, in the manufacturing industry, the engineers are needed, the accountants are needed, the lawyers are needed, and each of the group will be bringing a substantial amount of knowledge. Therefore, for young people to be properly prepared for leadership, unity must be encouraged.

Furthermore, cooperation brings diversity and takes away the cultural difference. When the youths of the country see themselves as one and not division, it is only then that they can handle leadership positions better. Take for instance, in Nigeria here, the youths are divided among three geographical regions and hence strife better the regions is prevalent. Hence, we can only build up the youths for leadership positions when cultural differences put to the low, or at best eliminated.

On the other hand, encouraging healthy competition amongst the youth is also a good way of developing them. Healthy competition brings builds one's capacity to focus and trains one in being determined. Competition in sporting activities has been seen to as well build unity. This must, however, be done without strife or ulterior motives. Hence the call for cooperation.

Cooperation is the key to developing leaders. Our youths must be taught how to cooperate. This will cause the society to flourish. It also limits the negatives can are present in cultural variance. A society that wants the best for its youth must organise annual orientation programs on cooperation.