Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Influence can often be underestimated. Exposure to certain characters and traits has a way of shaping our lives as humans. For students, influence can be derived from teachers, and also from friends. The prompt suggests that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the prompt and argue that friends do have more influence on students than teachers do because students spend more time with friends and also relate better with friends.

First, influence on students due to friends is greater because students have more time with friends than with their teachers. Research has shown that the more time you spend with a person, the more influence the person has on you. For instance, a student will only spend classroom hours during weekdays with his teachers. However, the entire weekends will be spent on several playful activities with friends from school, church, and neighbouring communities. This way, the number of traits the teacher can pass down to the student will be limited compared to the several traits he will gain form friends.

Furthermore, many students tend to relate better with their friends than with their teachers. Building a healthy relationship is a very paramount key when the topic of influence is being discussed. Most teachers are very tough and difficult; hence, students are really scared of interacting with them outside of the classroom. For example, I had a very strict mathematics teacher in my college days. As a result, if I have problems with a mathematics assignment, I easily relate with my friends who put me through, instead of meeting with the teacher. Thus, the mathematics teachers had little or no influence on me, as I could not relate to him appropriately.

Of course, some might argue that determining the career path of the student is enough to influence that a teacher should have on students. This is not the case, as students are more likely to decide on a career path based on influence from friends. For example, a student who has a friend aspiring to be a lawyer will more likely want to be a lawyer too. Because most of the activities he will be engaged with alongside his friend will be bending towards law. They might decide to read a novel together and then engage in a reading catch up session to discuss the lessons. Therefore, influencing the choice of career path for a student is not limited to the teachers.

In conclusion, the influence of friends on students is enormous. This is because students spend a substantial amount of time with friends and flow better with their age group. Also, they tend to do several activities in common. This is a huge call for parents to be watchful of the kinds of friends their wards keep in school, as influence goes a long way in shaping the life of students.