Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to work as a team than as an individual to succeed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every person aims to be successful in life. Success in life is measured based on various parameters. Some people, however, think that to succeed, one needs to be independent, while others argue that success is more achievable as a team. The prompt suggests that we do not belabour this point for too long, stating that "it is better to work as a team than as an individual to succeed." In my view, I completely agree with the prompt and opine that to succeed, teamwork is better because it brings diversification, saves time, and improves quality.

First, teamwork contributes to diversity in solutions. When people come together to form a team, they tend to come from different backgrounds and various culture. For example, the biggest bank here in Nigeria - First Bank, started as a group of multicultural individuals. Their various backgrounds and culture shaped their lives in certain ways. Hence, their contribution brought about a variety of solutions to the team and aided the bank's success. This way, the bank was able to attract customers from various backgrounds as well.

Furthermore, teamwork saves time. When working as a team, a division of labour can easily be incorporated. Hence tasks are accomplished speedily and success comes easily. For instance, the construction of the titanic ship could only have been possible with team members. The different task to be done was shared across various team members. Everyone became a specialist in whatever task he has been assigned to do, and hence the titanic ship was speedily delivered.

Of course, some might argue that teamwork might slow down the pace of an individual since he needs to seek the opinion of others in the team. This is not the case. Teamwork helps to ensure that quality in delivery which is also very important to succeed. When working in a team, you get to seek the opinion of others to shape whatever is been given out. This will not be possible in a single-man show.

In conclusion, working as a team comes with great benefits. It gives room for varieties, saves time spent on a task, and improve the overall quality of whatever is been produced. How I wish that the entrepreneurs of today can harness the great benefits of teamwork.