Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Being a young adult comes with varying challenges. At this stage of life, a young man will be bothered about how to make a mark. As a result, some young adults prefer to be independent early enough while others prefer to be with their families for a longer duration. In my opinion, it is better to be independent of his parents as soon as possible because this makes available a broader range of learning, creates room to try out several things and develops self-control.

First, it is a good option for young adults to be independent early enough because this will allow them to learn more. The period of being a young adult is a period of learning, and that should be the priority. For example, the former president of Nigeria, Goodluck Jonathan, left his parents when he was a teenager. This allowed him to learn from a broader range of people and not be limited to lessons from his parents. As a result, he was able to demonstrate great skill in several fields. Imagine a young adult who is caged by his parents and gets everything done by his parents, such a person, will have a limited idea of how things work in the real world. Hence, it is of great value to be independent of parents at an early stage.

Furthermore, a young man dependent on his parents will not be free to experiment with several opportunities. His parents will always dictate the direction and pace at which he is to go. This is very detrimental, and the man will not be able to take hold of opportunities. For instance, when I was staying with my parents in the early 2000s, I had the mind of becoming a musician because of my love for music. But my parents would not leave me to visit musical gigs where I can improve myself. Because of this, my passion for music withered as I could not develop myself as I wish. However, for an independent young man, this will not be the case. He will be able to schedule his time suitably to get things done and become a well-rounded individual.

Finally, of course, some might argue that early independence from parents will expose the young adult to social vices which will impact him negatively. This is not the case as exposure to social vices is not a function of independence from parents. A young adult should be able to distinguish between what is right and wrong and be careful enough to limit what he is exposed to despite being independent. This act of self-control comes with knowledge gained from independence. Take, for example, a man who has been with his parents for so long and is used to getting all his demands. When such a man is finally left alone, he will want things to continue the same way and will, therefore, look for means to get all he wants. However, a young adult who has been independent early enough would have learnt self-control and how to prioritize his demands.

In conclusion, early independence is beneficial to young adults. This will help them to grow out of their parents’ shell and give them the avenue to harness opportunities. Also, they become self-restraint which is advantageous for societal existence. I wish that society can encourage its youths to take hold of the several advantages that lies in being independent of parents as soon as possible.