The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Leadership; to a political leader is about service. Every political leader strives to attain greatness through service to the people. However, is greatness in leadership tied to challenges faced or inherent leadership skills? The prompt suggests that the greatness of a political leader has more to do with the challenges he has faced rather than the fundamental skills he possesses. In my opinion, I strongly agree and argue that for any political leader, greatness has more to do with the challenges that have shaped him rather than his inherent abilities, for two reasons.

First, many political leaders that have achieved greatness, were not born great. A handful of them did not possess greatness as a congenial skill or ability. Rather, at some point in time, they all developed these skills and were also sharpened by the challenges they faced and overcame during life. Take, for example, the former president of Nigeria, Goodluck Jonathan, who was born in a very remote village in Nigeria where growing up as a kid was challenging. He grew up with little access to the necessities of life. Poor education, low electricity supply, low access to food, clothing and shelter; are just a few of the challenges he encountered while growing. However, in many of his presidential broadcast, he refers to these challenges as porters that have moulded him to become who he is today. Hence, we leave in a world where been great as a political leader has very little to do with ones' abilities and more to do with the challenges that have confronted one. Political leaders are shaped, bettered, and made to achieve greatness through the challenges they have faced.

Again, the world is ever-changing and a leader's inherent skill today may not be sufficient to deal with the rising issues of tomorrow. The diverse needs of the people and also the imbalance in human wants does not permit a rigid approach in dealing with political issues. As a result, great political leaders had to learn from their past mistakes to attain greatness. For instance, we heard of the great Nelson Mandela, who was imprisoned for several years while he was defending a course, but after been released, met a new era where he became a change agent; driving complete revolution. The challenge of being imprisoned moulded his character. Also, we learnt that in the past decays, the cries of the people was centred on the provision of food. However, in this current era, the cry is centred on improved quality of education. Dealing with the issue of quality education as a political leader requires entirely different skill sets from dealing with providing food. Thus, to be a great political leader, one needs to have encountered various challenges and also learn from them.

Of course, some might argue that the remarkable skills inherent in a political leader like Fela Kuti, Wole Soyinka, amongst others; were what caused them to achieve greatness. However, were these skills not developed from experiences? were they not brought to light by complexities in challenges? A political leader who wants to achieve greatness should consider as less important, his inherent skills and abilities, but strive to face more challenges.