The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the business manager concludes that to attract more viewers to the late-night news program and to avoid further loss of advertising revenues, time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former level. The manager arrived at this conclusion based on a history of the past years which shows that when more time was devoted to national news and less time to weather and local news, most of the complaints from the viewers were centred around the station's coverage of weather and local news. While this argument may be true, three specific pieces of evidence need to be provided and properly evaluated, to further ascertain the persuasiveness of the argument.

First, pieces of evidence to show that the complaints received from viewers were centred on increasing the time allotted for weather and local news broadcast, needs to be provided. Perhaps, most of the viewers were complaining of other aspects of the late-night news program and not the time allocation. Maybe the picture and sound quality of the broadcast has plummeted in recent times and has resulted in difficulty while watching the broadcast. It is also possible that the complaints from the viewers in the past years were due to the presentation style adopted by the television station. If the business manager cannot provide evidence to show that the complaints were concerning time allocation only, then his argument is intangible.

Second, the business manager must show that the reason for the cancellation of the advertisement contract by the local businesses was a result of the unbalanced time apportioning. Local businesses might have pulled out owing to an increase in advertisement charge and other additional charges imposed by the television station. Maybe the local businesses are no longer solvent enough to scope with the increased priced and hence decided to pull out. It might also be the case that newly-created government advertisement restriction on certain products, which forms the core-production of the local businesses, forcing them to cancel advertisement contracts with the television station. If the business manager can prove that either of the above scenarios is false and show that the cancellation of contracts was as a result of the "improper" time allocation then his argument will be more persuasive.

Lastly, even if the business manager can prove that complaints received from viewers were centred on increasing the time allotted for weather and local news broadcast, and also show that the reason for the cancellation of advertisement contract by local business is due to the unbalanced time apportioning, he still needs to provide shreds of evidence to demonstrates that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will, in turn, attract more viewers to the late-night news program, as this may not be the case. Perhaps, in the present times, the majority of the viewers are more interesting in reports and happenings in the national scene and will therefore not subscribe to listening to local news. Maybe this national election has been scheduled for this month and the viewers will be interested in knowing the level of preparedness at the national electoral office. If it is the case that viewers will primarily be interested in national news during this period then the conclusion by the business manager is flawed and does not hold water.

In conclusion, while the conclusion made the business manager may be valid, the argument as it stands now is substantially weakened. Hence, further specific evidence needs to be provided by the business manager; maybe in terms of scientific surveys, to make the argument overly more persuasive.