Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People define creativity as a thing of the mind. They go further to say that how well our minds generated inner voices determines how creative we become. The prompt suggests that in terms of creativity, technology has done more harm than good. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the prompt and argue that technology improves the creative nature in children as it exposes them to loads of information, develops their mathematical skills, and makes them work faster and with ease.

First, technology exposes children to information. It is often said that without the necessary information, a child will be deformed. Technology brings information very close to the child so the child can learn from them and hence improve his creativity. For instance, in schools, the use of a technological tool called a laptop, have increased the knowledge base of children. As children relate better with pictures and they are allowed to browse educational websites and this increases their awareness of the outside world. A child who is deprived of a laptop will be lagging in terms of creativity as he would not be privy to enough information. Therefore, technological tools build children all-round making them highly informed.

Furthermore, technology increases children's creativity by adding to their mathematics skill. Studies have should that the more adept a child is with solving mathematics problem, the better his creativity. For example, a child who aspires to be an engineer will need to proffer solutions to a lot of difficult real-life problems which are often tied to mathematics. The invention of calculator, a technological tool, has helped increase the number of such problems a child is exposed to at such a young age, and also the number he can solve. Without calculators, a child will be restricted in his thinking and view of problems, and this will hamper his creativity.

On the other hand, some might argue that the persistent use of technology will make a child lazy. This is however not the case. Technology makes work easier and faster for every child. Take, for example, a child who is skilful in drawing with pen and paper, such child will be able to produce better drawings with a computer software called AutoCAD. If he was previously producing just a piece of drawing in a day, with the use of AutoCAD he will produce double even triple. He will also be able to try out different styles of drawing with computer software. In that way, technology improves his speed, saves his time, and adds to his imaginative thinking.

In conclusion, the advantages of technology to a child is invaluable. It adds to the creativity of every child as it improves their handling of real-life mathematics problem, exposes them to information and makes their working easier. How I wish that the Government stands up and invest in the technical literacy of every child.