Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Computer games are enjoyable. Yet, parents are faced with a puzzling choice of either leaving their children to participate in these games or not. The prompt suggests that we do not belabour this choice for too long; stating that parent should not permit their children to play computer games as the games are a waste of time. In my view, I completely disagree with the prompt and argue that children should be permitted to play computer games as these games aid learning and help in relaxation.

First, kids should be allowed to play computer games because computer games help their learning. A lot of these games were developed by great intellectuals for specific needs. We have computer games that help in building numeracy skill, we also have computer games that help in developing literacy skill. A child who is allowed to play computer games will absorb these essential skills while playing. For example, Chinka Nwugo a professor of mathematics from Nigeria developed the Math20 game to help children in college improve their quantitative reasoning ability. The game which tests basic mathematics operations like addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division, was accepted in all colleges in Lagos, Nigeria. Since its acceptance, Lagos has been recording improvements in the performance of students in mathematics during promotion exams. Therefore, computer games are necessary for children to improve their performance.

Furthermore, playing computer games serves a child quality relaxation. Everyone needs to exercise but not everyone has the facilities to do so. Some relaxation exercise like swimming, require a large amount of space. Some require the participation of others e.g. playing football. However, playing computer games as a relaxation exercise requires little space and can be done alone. This is very advantageous for parents who want privacy for their children and would not want them to mingle with other kids due to bad influence. For example, a child who has been in school for over 8hours solving abstruse equations can get quality relaxation by picking a computer game after returning home. He would not need the presence of other children yet the goal of resting the muscles will still be reached. Hence, parents should encourage their children to play computer games.

On the other hand, some might argue that spending too much time on computer games might be harmful to children. This is however less probable to occur as the time spent on computer games can be limited. Computer games come with a timer function that restricts the availability of the games to certain times. For example, the PES game comes with a menu that allows the parent to schedule the games. Hence, a child would not be allowed to play the game outside of the specified times. Also, the PES game has a menu that restricts the number of rounds allowed to play in a day and parents can always adjust this number to suit their requirements. A parent who sets the number of rounds to three means that after three rounds of the game, the system should be locked and the child will have no other option than to drop the game and face something else.

In conclusion, parents should not deny their children of computer games as these games are advantageous to the all-round development of the child. Computer games promote children academic performance and keep them relaxed. How I wish the science world can develop more games, improve on the existing ones, and then make them cheaply available to every child.