The commercial airline industry in the country of Freedonia has experienced impressive growth in the past three years. This trend will surely continue in the years to come, since the airline industry will benefit from recent changes in Freedonian society: incomes are rising; most employees now receive more vacation time; and interest in travel is rising, as shown by an increase in media attention devoted to foreign cultures and tourist attractions.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Here, the author predicts that the commercial airline industry in Freedonia will continue to experience incredible growth in the coming years as it has in the past three years. The author reached this conclusion based on the premise that the airline industry will profit from current changes like rising incomes, more holidays and increasing travelling interest, in the Freedonia society. This prediction is, however, based on several unfounded assumptions that if not substantially examined, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, for this conclusion to be properly evaluated, three questions need to be answered.

First, can the societal conditions of the last three years be compared with the present conditions? Are there no increased crime rate or another societal disarray that may affect the citizens’ behaviours and interactions? It is possible that the cases of reported crime in the country and even globally, have risen in recent times and therefore people are forced to suspend all travelling arrangements till further notice. There is also a possibility that a serious pandemic has just emerged and is ravaging the entire nation, resulting in a government-imposed 2years quarantine period and 4years travelling ban to curtail the effects of the virus. If either of the above scenarios proves true, then the author's argument of commercial airline industry growth is significantly weakened.

Second, are there no other factors contending with the increasing income? The author presumes that increasing income will come with increasing travel spending. This might not be true, as the prices of food, clothing and shelter, which forms the necessities of human existence, may also be increasing. Hence the employees will rather be frugal and prudent in spending the available money. Also, increased income may come with an increased tax rate from the government, increased electricity bill, and increased bank charges. If this is the case, the citizens might not be solvent enough to afford commercial travel during the coming years. The author can further strengthen his argument be answering if the rising income would not come with other increasing charges.

Lastly, even if the societal conditions are fine and increasing income would not come with increased bills, will most of the employees be interested in spending their vacation period travelling? The author assumes that more vacation time is equivalent to more travelling time. This may not be the case as most employees might have decided to use the holiday period in the coming years to learn a hand trade, study online materials or perhaps take online part-time college courses. It is also possible that for the coming years, the employees will be more inclined to stay at home with the family, or even spend more time with colleagues in the neighbourhood. If it is true that the employees will not use the vacation period as travelling period, then the author's argument is invalid and does not hold water.

In conclusion, though commercial airline might be positioned for increased growth in the coming years, yet, the author's assumption as it stands, is completely flawed and does not hold water. If the author can provide more evidence in the form of scientific research and also provide answers to the above three questions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate his conclusion.