“Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

A lot of arguments have been raised on giving both genders equal opportunities. Some say that men are stronger than the women and should hence take up task requiring a huge amount of strength. Others argue that what a man can do, a woman can do even better, and hence both can handle task equally. The prompt suggests that we not belabour this point anymore as due to physical difference, each gender has its suitability. In my opinion, I agree with the point and argue that men and women are not equally suited for many tasks, for three reasons.

First, the physical structure of men does not constrain their ability to develop muscular physique as compared to the structure in women. The physical structure of the woman body does not permit strenuous muscular exercises. Hence, in instances where the task to be performed require much physical input, a woman would not able to perform. Often, women who are pregnant or anticipating pregnancy, are advised not to carry out any physical or muscular exercises. Since a man is not constrained by such limitations, he is in a vantage position to perform a heavy-duty task than the woman.

Furthermore, women due to their inherent nature are more emotional and tender-hearted than men. As a result, women are better positioned to take up tasks such as caregivers, nurses, midwives, and other position that requires emotion sentiments. Take, for example, mother Theresa who was best known for her benevolent characteristics was highly praised for being generosity and humane behaviour. The physical nature of the woman which triggers sentimental emotion, makes this largess act seamless easy for her. Men who are unmoved by emotions would not perform well if emotional tasks are given to them to handle.

Finally, today's business world requires a high degree of networking and social prowess for the successful completion of a project or a job. These skills which elude the women makes it difficult for them to handle key leadership position today. For example, looking at African countries, the ratio of female presidents to male presidents is very low. Women are relegated to lower positions where they perform a task that better suits them.

Of course, some might argue that men and women were created equally and that anyone who can adapt easily can perform any task as good as the other counterpart. However, is not even precisely why individual gender should create a niche for itself and be better suited for a specific task? With this, we are likely to have the task completed easily and with less time spent.