"Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas in which the disease is detected. However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations,we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

(I have presented the essay below with all the errors that I was not able to correct before the allowed 30 minutes)

In the prompt, the author stated that permissions shouldn't be given for routinely administered inoculations against cow flu. The writer came to this conclusion based on the fact that there is a probability that a person will die as a result of inoculations. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence need to be presented and substantiated.

First of all, the writer presumes, without evidence that the probability of death due to the routine inoculation is not negligible. Perhaps, the possibility of death is one in a hundred thousand inoculations. It is also possible that the occurrence of death is peculiar to a very minute set of people who abhors such inoculation routinely. If either case is true, then the author's conclusion is intangible and significantly flawed.

Secondly, the author assumes that inoculations against cow flu can lead to death. They, however, may not be the case. There is a possibility that those who previously died after inoculation were nursing other ailments that went on to kill them and not the inoculation in itself. There is also a possibility that the overdose of the inoculation was the cause of death and not the inoculation in itself. If either of the above scenarios is true, then the author's argument of not permitting inoculation does not hold water.

Finally, even if it is true that inoculations result in death and that the probability of dying is not negligible, the author assumes that there is no other factor that could have led to the death of the people. Maybe the approach and the methodology used for the inoculating were what resulted in death. People could have been left in deep hunger before the inoculation was done. There is also a possibility that the stress of the inoculation enervated them, making them susceptible to other death-causing illness. If the above is true, then the author's recommendation is not convincing.

In conclusion, it is possible that not permitting routine inoculation will not result in death. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render the conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. If the author can provide additional evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed recommendation.