Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas in which the disease is detected.However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations,we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument provided claims that the routine administration of cow flu vaccinations cannot be undertaken because of the small probability of death, despite the fact that it may save many lives when done in areas where the disease is detected. To evaluate this argument, several important pieces of evidence concerning the virulence of the disease, details on the areas it affects, the possibility of death or other side effects due to the inoculations, and details on the governing body banning the routine administration of the vaccination are required.

Firstly, information about the severity of cow pox like its spread rate, death rate, and quality of life of the survivors is crucial. If every infectious person is able to infect up to 1 other person on average, there is no serious danger of the disease spiraling out of control and becoming an epidemic, so there is more leeway for lax administration of the vaccines. However, if every infected person goes on to spread the disease to 5-10 others, it will quickly spread throughout the local population. In this case, the need to protect vulnerable members of society like elderly, children, and the immunosuppressed, severely weaken the argument against the vaccine's routine administration. On the other hand, if the disease has a very low death rate, lower than the common cold for example, there is less danger to the population due to the disease and so the argument to avoid the routine administration of the vaccine is strengthened. Finally, if after recovering from the disease, the survivors' quality of life is severely impacted and they need continuous medical attention, which will stress both their finances and the national healthcare burden, the inoculations against the flu become much more important, weakening the argument.

Information about the areas it affects is also crucial, and highly linked to the virulence of the disease. If the population is more vulnerable to the disease, or certain environmental conditions in the area worsen its severity, the routine administration of vaccination in those regions becomes much more important. However, some areas may be less susceptible to the worst of the disease, and the argument would be much more relevant to those regions.

The severity of side effects and deaths due to the inoculations has also not been highlighted by the argument. If the death rate due to the inoculations is higher than the disease, than it is a major point in favor of the argument against its routine administration. However, if the death rate is much lower than the disease, coming from perhaps only a few isolated cases, and other side effects of the inoculation are minor and temporary, the case for routine administration in vulnerable areas and populations is much stronger. If research exists detailing which sections of the population in particular face negative side effects from the vaccines while the rest are unaffected, the vaccine could be routinely administered in doses to the invulnerable population, to boost herd immunity. Finally, information of whether boosters of the vaccine are required and the danger posed by these boosters is also crucial, since if regular, dangerous boosters are need than the case against the inoculation0 is strengthened.

Finally, details on the governing body making the statement would also help evaluate the argument. If they are in a precarious position or have limited authority, it may not be possible for them to advocate a cure with any inherent risk, regardless of whether it would help the population overall. Additionally, if research on the vaccine is relatively recent and not peer reviewed, they may be more hesitant on pushing for routine administration till more confirmed numbers are obtained. Finally, the burden of payment of the vaccine may also be a consideration point for them; if it is too expensive, their constituents may not be in the position to foot the bill for routine administrations. However, provided they have sufficient authority and funding, and trustworthy data indicates high local virulence of the disease in the areas where the disease is detected and low potential overall harm from the vaccine, their case against the routine administration of inoculations is severely weakened.