A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

By requiring its students to study the same national curriculum until college, a nation can ensure its students' holistic development and a basic national competency. However, since individual students have their own talents and motivations, forcing them to focus on the exact same curriculum may not be the best way to hone their particular skills. That is why I believe that this recommendation, despite having the right general spirit, is too restrictive and requires modification.

The recommendation in its current form has its benefits since it ensure students have a basic understanding of a broad range of subjects. Some amount of formal education in maths and science is crucial to ensure citizens are able to navigate their daily finances, evaluate studies published in media, and comprehend and follow government directives in a crisis. For example, with the current covid-19 pandemic, a school-level understanding of biology is highly beneficial in preventing panic while ensuring citizens take necessary precautions. Thus, a nation needs to guarantee that their students gain this understanding by imposing a national curriculum.

However, some may argue, what about subjects like languages or arts? Should nations force students to study these as part of the national curriculum as well? It is well established that using your brain for a variety of skills ensures maximal brain development, especially at a young age, so it is crucial that these classes be taken by all students. Additionally, it is impossible to predict what skills will become most useful for the students in their future. Perhaps their future jobs as doctors or engineers will later be performed by artificial intelligences and machines, and their employability will instead come from their foreign language skills. Given our increasing life-spans and fast paced societies, flexibility and a ranged skill set is critical to secure future success.

Finally, what about a student who is exceptional at one of their subjects. Should they be limited by the bounds of the national curriculum? Here is where I believe the recommendation falls short, because such students should be provided additional classes or avenues to hone their particular skills and go beyond the basics.

Thus, I believe the national curriculum should be imposed by the nation as the base or minimum that students need to learn, but certain electives or extra classes must be left free for students to develop their talents. This modified recommendation will ensure that students benefit from a broad knowledge base while still being able to focus on their particular strengths. It will also ensure that the country's citizens are prepared to critically consume and respond to media and government directives in times of crisis.