The following appeared in an article written by

Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist,

visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by

an entire village rather than by their own biological

parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes

Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than

about other adults in the village. This research of

mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures

is invalid as well. The interview-centered method

that my team of graduate students is currently

using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate

understanding of child-rearing traditions there and

in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

The first essential evidence needed to evaluate Dr. Karp’s claims is the number of islands considered in his study and the relationship between the entire group and Tertia in particular. If a very large group of islands is being considered or if the islands are relatively far from each other or have minimal similarities in their cultures and societies, Dr. Karp’s claims are severely weakened since they are using a much bigger sample and the general data may not be representative of the child-rearing practices on this particular island. On the other hand, if a few tightly knit and interdependent islands are being studied by Dr. Karp, his findings are much more relevant to Tertia.

Secondly, additional data on Dr. Field’s precise observations is required. Karp says Field concluded that the children were reared by the village rather than their biological parents, but it is unclear whether the children still live in their parents’ house or have significant, regular family gatherings. Both of these situations would explain Karp’s interview results showing the children talk more about their biological parents than other adults in the village, and thus weaken his final claim of the superiority of the interview-based method. If instead, Field’s comment about the village rearing the children means that they live in communal housing apart from their families completely, Karp’s final claim would be strengthened.

Another important piece of evidence would be a recent history of the past 20 years on Tertia. Could there exist any circumstances, like skirmishes with neighboring islands or increased globalization, that would cause a shift in the village structure? Field’s research was done 20 years before Karp’s, and it is possible that in the interim the conditions of the village shifted enough to change Tertia’s child rearing practices and thus make it inappropriate to use these two studies to compare the interview-centered and observation-centered methods.

Furthermore, another crucial piece of information would be whether there are any other observational and interview-based studies on Tertia and the neighboring islands, and if so, how well do they corroborate Field’s and Karp’s conclusions respectively. If they differ, there could be an issue with the manner in which Field or Karp conducted their studies, rather than a clash between the interview-centered and observation-centered methods in general, which would severely weaken Karp’s final claim. If no such other studies exist, peer evaluation on how well the studies were conducted and matched best practices in the field would also be important information.

Finally, Karp also claimed that the interview centered method was not only superior in studying child-rearing traditions in Tertia, but in other island cultures as well. Validating this section of the claim would require evidence on how well methods generally translate between island cultures, in case individual cultures differ so drastically that separate methods need to perfected to get the best data from each particular island or group of islands. This would also weaken the overall validity of Karp’s final claim.