The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town-Adams Realty and Fitch Realty-Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this letter, the homeowner argues that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch based on its greater number of real estate agents, higher revenue in the previous year, greater average prices for houses sold, and his personal experience with both realties. Based on these argumnets, the homeowner recommends that their friend use Adams Realty if they want to sell their house quickly and at a good price. However, this argument is rife with assumptions that the friend ought to clarify before deciding that Adams Realty is the better option.

Firstly, the homeowner argues that Adams is better because it has 40 real estate agents to Fitch's 25, and many of Fitch's agents work part time. However, the number of agents does not speak to their quality, and no mention is made of how many of Adam's agents work part-time or whether full-time real estate agents are any better at selling houses than the part time ones. It is completely possible, based on the information provided, that all of Adams' agents work part time, or Adams employs so many agents because they need more than one agent because they are generally less competent. If this is the case, the argument is clearly weakened.

Then, the homeowner points to higher revenue and a greater average price for houses sold by Adams in the last year. While data from last year is fairly recent, this argument relies on the assumption that there were no major changes in the business management and employee force or no recent newsworthy scandals or accolades associated with either business. Depending on the nature of these factors, if any exist, the data described by the homeowner may not be applicable any more. Additionally, Adam's higher revenue may come from a higher commission charged by its real estate agents, rather than being indicative of a greater sales rate, and the greater average price may come from Adam's having some sort of minimum price for the houses they list. The homeowner assumes none of these are the case, but any of these considerations would weaken the homeowner's argument.

Finally, the homeowner argues for Adams' superiority from personal anecdote, claiming that when he listed a house 10 years ago on Fitch it took 4 months to sell but when he listed a house on Adams last year, it only took 1 month. To be convinced by this anecdote alone, the friend would have to make several assumptions. Firstly, was the housing market in the same position a year and 10 years ago? Are Adams and Fitch from the point of sale in the same position as they are today? If 10 years ago there was a housing crash that caused the increased sale time, the argument is clearly weakened. However, if Fitch was a much bigger, more renowned company 10 years ago and it is struggling today, then the argument for Fitch's current inferiority is supported. In this case, we are simply not given enough information to fairly evaluate this anecdote. Additionally, it is unknown whether the homeowners houses were the same kind or the same price, and whether they were sold under or below market value. Perhaps Adams boosts sales by listing houses below market value, or the homeowner was selling a much more expensive house 10 years ago. These situations would clearly weaken the efficacy of his anecdote.

Thus, before the friend decides whether to use Adams or Fitch, or if they even want to sell their house, they need to get these details from their friend and do some additional research on the companies' current positions and reviews from other people who have used the realties. The homeowner's case, while potentially compelling based on how the unstated assumptions are clarified, may not even be representative of the general house prices and speed of sale offered by each Realty. Additionally, various other factors like details about the friend's house, the realties's policies, and the commission rates are also crucial for the the friend to consider before making any decision.