"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the advertising director claims that next year's advertising budget should be increased because the public is not aware that good quality movies produced by Super Screen are available. They justify this by the fact that less people attended Super Screen movies in the past year than in previous years although the percentage of positive reviews has actually increased, indicating movie quality has not degraded. However, there are key pieces of information that must be demanded before the reallocation of budget can be evaluated.

Firstly, why are fewer people attending Super Screen produced movies? The memo assumes there could only be two possible options, movie quality and advertisements, but there are several other possibilities. Are there any recent scandals associated with Super Screen? Have the movies lately been more targeted towards niche audiences than mainstream ? Either of these options would decrease the audience for the Super Screen movies, leaving only fans of Super Screen or the particular niche audiences to serve as the movie audience. This could also account for the increase in percentage of positive reviews, since the remaining viewers are more predisposed to like the movies already, without being indicative of the quality of the movies.

Alternatively, people might also be attending fewer Super Screen movies because of issues in movie scheduling or changes in viewer trends. There could be fewer theaters screening Super Screen movies or Super Screen could be releasing movies during packed release times and facing too much competition with other films with large, dedicated fanbases, like Marvel movies. It could also be possible that people are just switching to watching less movies in theaters in general, because they are moving to streaming platforms like Netflix instead. In any of these cases, the recommendation is again inappropriate. Thus, there should be statistics gathered on general cinemagoers, the release times and locations of Super Screen audiences, and data on why their reviewers chose to keep watching their movies. Based on this, a more tactical approach can be planned to change their distribution methods instead.

However, if after all of this, it is ascertained that the issue is simply that advertising has not been able to reach enough of the public, increasing the budget may still not be the correct solution. Instead, details on the medium of advertising currently used, a survey of what advertisements are most effective, and the effectiveness of the advertisements already in place need to be gathered. Perhaps the company is mainly advertising through newspapers, but newspaper consumption has decreased in the past few years. Then, simply increasing budget to print more newspaper adds will not be effective. Instead, they need to switch to bus-stop ads or youtube ads, after investigating what would be most effective for their audience. Or they might have youtube ads already, but people might not like their trailers. In that case, hiring a new creative team may be much more effective than increasing the number of trailers.

Thus, to determine the best steps forward, all of the aforementioned questions need to be addressed. The evidence provided in the memo is insufficient to support the recommendation proposed, and audience surveys and gathering statistics is the critical next step before reallocating Super Screen's budget. With this new information, it will also be possible to decide whether changes in distribution or content of the movies or their advertisements would be a better way to tackle the decreased audience.