Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the

societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of

corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Do corporations have a social and environmental responsibility in the in which regions they operate, or is their only responsibility to make as much money as they can, as long as they remain within the confines of the law? While it is certainly important for them to try to maximize profits in order to remain viable and meet their responsibilities to their investors, I ardently believe that they have a serious social and environmental responsibility beyond what is strictly dictated by the law.

One argument for setting exclusively monetary agendas for corporations is the idea that this will motivate people to work harder to get individually rich and will also benefit society as a whole due to a greater trickle-down. In this, the possible negative impacts of ignoring a corporation’s social responsibilities are ignored or argued away but claiming that for extremely harmful situations, the government will step in and make laws. However, this ignores the fact that governments may have their own motivations. For example, if corporations are able to lobby representatives or swing elections in their favor or if third-world countries are desperate to boost their economies and invite foreign countries at any post, regulations can be purposely made too lax and the onus of social and environmental responsibility must fall on the corporations themselves. This is what causes the current smoking epidemic in Thailand, where even children as young as 2 years old can become addicted since the government refuses to regulate the sale of cigarettes or put in public education programs. Thus, either a global body must exist to make and enforce such regulations, which is currently not possible, or companies themselves must put the effort to make change.

Additionally, corporations may have access to information and resources before the government, which means that the law may lag behind the essential protections for the environment and society. This is more relevant today, with our ever-evolving technology, than ever before, where companies like Facebook are able to engage in data mining and can even swing elections while government officials often do not have the necessary know-how to keep up with the changes and make appropriate regulations.

Of course, trying to fulfil the social and environmental responsibility can be very complex, especially in our global society where multi-national companies need to operate and respond to the needs of a wide variety of cultures and ecosystems. It may not even be possible to always have the correct answer. For example, take companies trying to provide “clean energy” by moving away from fossil fuels. Their core mission clearly attempts to satisfy their responsibilities to the environment, but in practice there can be other considerations that result in damage to the environment and society, like changes to the ecosystem due to wind farms, the rare, heavy metals needed for solar panels, or the inherent risks of and toxic waste generated by nuclear reactors. There is always a trade-off, and it is not always possible to have sufficient data to actually determine which solution is better, so there are several arguments to be made about how looking for an uncertain answer is just a waste of the company’s resources. However, I would argue that this search remains valuable, even in the absence of certainty and the possibility of error, because it encourages innovation and expands the capabilities of the company and even the society around it. Additionally, if an actual solution can be found, then any “wasted” resources become worthwhile.

Thus, social and environmental responsibilities are a must for corporations, and the law must only set a direction and a worst-case scenario guideline, rather than being the only factor limiting a corporations single-minded pursuit of the dollar.