The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Is solely providing positive reinforcement while ignoring negative actions the most effective teaching philosophy? I would argue that the correct philosophy is dependent on the content, context, and your audience.

For younger children, I believe praising positive actions is definitely better than correcting negative ones, because they have not yet developed the ability to infer the reasons behind what they are told. For example, when my little brother was first learning to count, he would always go straight from 4 to 6, skipping 5 in the middle. So, every time he would say 4, I would remind him that the next number was “not six”. Of course, this only made him learn that you counted 3,4,5,not 6, and 6! He hadn’t yet realized “not 6” meant there was a different, correct answer. Furthermore, as younger children often reach out for attention, giving any reaction, especially an emotional one, to their bad behavior only encourages them to repeat it.

As children grow older, the situation becomes more nuanced. It is certainly well established that in academic matters, positive reinforcement is the better method because students feel more motivated and encouraged by their teachers, mentors, and parents. However, when it comes to social or moral issues, it is equally important to acknowledge and punish negative actions, since the students may often pick those up from people around them and fail to realize that their actions are harmful or can have consequences. For example, the problem of systemic sexism problems arises from young boys learning from their homes, friends, or media to disregard women’s freedom of choice and facing no consequences for stalking or harassing fellow classmates, to the point they fail to even realize the error of their ways. To fix such an issue, it is important to set up systems that acknowledge and punish negative actions at every turn, not just when they have escalated out of control.

Similarly, on a government level, where issues are often matters of public action and safety, positive reinforcement is simply insufficient by itself. We’re currently facing a pandemic and simply encouraging people to stay at home is insufficient until it is supplemented by tracing methods, laws, fines, and jail times to punish offenders, which actively forces people to follow through on lockdown measures. This is clearly evident when comparing the smaller relative efficiency of countries like Singapore, which have significantly higher punitive action, to countries like USA, which rely on encouraging their citizens rather than punishing them.

Thus, praising positive actions is definitely the best way to teach individuals facts, abilities, or individual skills, especially for younger children. However, when trying to teach societies or imparting moral or social norms, punishing negative actions is just as crucial to bringing an effective change.