All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Does using consultants provide a company with better advice on improving efficiency over simply listening to their own employees? I believe there are merits to relying on both employee feedback and consultant advice, and this depends on the nature of the company's work and the precise issues they are facing, since an employee would be more familiar with the technical details of their work and overall company objectives while a consultant would be able to offer a broader perspective that is informed by the best practices of other companies and is free from biases or limitations employees may have.

Consider the example of a integrated circuit manufacturing firm that is unable to meet its ambitious production quotas. Speaking to the employees, who are well versed with the manufacturing process, would be the best way for a company to understand if a better production technique could be available, if the raw material they are getting is subpar, or if the company's goals are not clearly conveyed to the employees. However, other issues like the production goals being too high, dealing with stiff competition, or the company having an overall poor organizational structure or policies, are all issue that are better solved by a consultant looking at the bigger picture without being mired by the company's conventions. Thus, it is in the firm's best interest to both set up channels for their employees to communicate with them and hire consultants.

However, when either relying on the employees or consultants, there are several considerations that need to be accounted for. An employee is very close to their work and will bring personal biases into the picture. They may advocate for shorter working hour or higher pay for "motivation", which may not be in the company's best interests. Additionally, their assessments of organizational strucutre may be influenced by personal grudges with their bosses or suboordinates, which is inappropriate and detrimental to improving company efficiency. Finally, the employees will have a limited persepctive that advocates the importance of their work in particular, so they would all vie for higher funding and resources allocated to their teams. All of these factors and biases will need to be acknowldged and removed while making organizational change.

However, focusing on employee opinions over external consulatants gives employees a greater sense of responsibility over their work and attachment to the well being off the company as a whole, which would be better for solving issues like employee retention than following consultant suggestions. Additionally, it is significantly cheaper in both time and resources to speak to employees rather than hire consultants. Finally, it will be necessary to acknowledge that suggestions from consultants may contain errors due to a lack of technical know-how, incomplete knowledge of the particular situation, or false connections drawn to previous successes.

Thus, I believe that a mix of consultant advice and listening to employees is the right way for management to amass suggestions on operational policies, though they will always have to weigh the suggestions they receive with considerations of possible biases, errors, cost, and motivations. In general, consultant advice will be more appropriate for big picture and overall structural issues, while employee advice will work better for motivation issues and technical.