The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memorandum, the business manager of a television station argues that, in order to increase viewership and forestall further losses in advertising revenue, the station should reverse its reallocation of time from the weather and local news to the national news. This argument is based on the fact that since the time allocated to weather and local news was decreased, most viewer complaints have focused on the station's weather and local news coverage and local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts with the station. However, this argument is rife with assumptions and so, several additional pieces of evidence are critical to evaluating the argument.

First, what was the original purpose of increasing the time devoted to the national news? If there was a demand for increased focus on the national news at the time, it is possible that the station gained additional viewers due to the original reallocation. This situation weakens the manager's argument, because reducing the time dedicated to national news could chase away these additional viewers. However, if the change in time came from internal management biases or as a result of a temporary national crisis, then the argument is strengthened since the demand for national news is now lower that the station is catering to.

Then, the argument rests on the assumption that the complaints from viewers about the weather and local new coverage were all related to the decreased time devoted to them. If this is true, then the argument is strengthened. However, the nature of the complaints is unspecified. Instead, the complaints could be regarding the poor quality of these news sections, in which case increasing their air time would only be detrimental to the station's viewership, weakening the argument.

Finally, there is no evidence provided to support any correlation between the local business advertisements and the change in air time devoted to different sections of the news. While it may be true that local businesses would prefer additional local and weather coverage, from the provided memorandum other explanations for the decreased advertisement contracts are equally plausible. Perhaps the station was embroiled in a recent scandal, there is an economic recession, or local businesses are switching to online or newspaper advertising over news stations. If any of these are the case, the argument is weakened as the proposed changes would not forestall further loss of advertising revenue.

Thus, evaluating this argument requires several critical pieces of information. The argument is strengthened if the original purpose for the increased national news coverage is no longer valid in the present situation, if the viewer complaints about the local news weather sections explicitly bemoan the reduced time devoted to these sections, and if there is evidence to support that loss in advertising revenue from local businesses is because of the reallocation in air times. Otherwise, the station mangers argument is weakened.