The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement proposes that it is more important for society's future leaders to have a sense of cooperation than competition. I steadfastly agree with this claim because a cooperative spirit in our leaders is critical; it encourages compassion, creative collaborations, and maximization of the others bring to the table. It is thus able to ensure the maximal societal benefit the leaders can achieve.

In academic fields, certainly, cooperation in leaders is necessary because leaders often act as teachers and pass their knowledge to their collaborators and future generations. Richard Feynman, one of the most famous physicists in recent history, is not only lauded for his contributions to the Standard Model, but also is praised for his ability to communicate with others and promote international, collaborative projects. By including others, he was able to channel and strengthen everyone's impacts, which led to great advancements in the field as a whole that could not have been possible if techniques and methods were fiercely hoarded in the spirit of competition.

However, when it comes to the industry, people may bring up Jeff Bezos to support competition over cooperation. He is not on the path to become the world's first trillionaire because of his cooperative spirit, but rather thanks to his cutthroat policies, exploitive labor regulations, and undermining of both competitors and collaborators alike. While this competitive spirit does grant him great personal success, this is not the spirit a society would like to encourage in their youth, because it does not benefit society as a whole, regardless of how much personal success it leads to. Instead, inculcating a collaborative spirit ensures that successful members of society keep working to improve society itself, in addition to furthering their own agendas. An excellent example of this is Bill Gates, who gained success from his creation of Microsoft but still looks out for public interest through his various scholarships and education initiatives.

Still, people might argue, what about our political leaders? It is impossible to become a politician without a competitive edge against your opponents. Just look at Donald Trump, he became the American president through his competitive spirit! Unfortunately, from a societal point of view, a person simply taking the leadership roll is not enough. They must actually fulfil their duties with competence and compassion in order to be effective in their positions, especially in case there is a crisis. Donald Trump's competitive nature means that he wants to give the impression of winning, regardless of where the statistics stand or what cost the victory may come at. That is what is worsening the COVID-19 crisis in the USA. In contrast, compassionate leaders, like Jacinda Arden in New Zealand, have seen much more success because their priority is cooperation, not competition. Thus, their policies aim to better society rather than only their own statistics.

Thus, whatever the field, collaboration is key aspect that needs to be promoted in our leaders. Competitive spirit may get individuals in the leadership position, but it curtails their efficiency and positive societal impact in that position in the absence of compassion. Instead, competition should come secondary to cooperation, as the statement suggests.