As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology today is our helping hand in an endless number of daily tasks, from remembering people's birthdays to creating predictive models for COVID-19's spread. Whether its our computers or our phones, its perenially at our fingertips, ready to do as we command. But does this mean reliance on technology is leading to a degradation in our ability to think? I would argue that this is very much not the case. Instead, technology is merely changing the nature of our thought and freeing up mental space for higher level reasoning.

Detractors of technology's increasing stature in our daily lives may ask, what about the people using their smart phone calculators to do trivial addition while shopping? Technology is clearly deletorious to their mental mathematics capabilties! Certainly, when I whip out my phone to calculate the total cost of my groceries, I am relying on my phone to do maths that my parents could have done in their heads. However, in today's world, when technology is available, what do we actually need those mental maths abilities for? Instead, we offload those trivial calculations and free up our minds to apply ourselves to more creative tasks; I instead dedicate the time I saved by using my calculator to think about how I can tackle a particularly persistant problem at work. The menial tasks technology takes over do not need to be a major factor in our lives anymore.

Using technology also creates worlds of possibilities the human mind could not otherwise reach, like in pharamceutical development. In the past, most new medicines were created by relying on half-baked instincts and potentially dangerous trial and error. With technology, modern pharamceuticals are developed using computer simulations, where you run through thousands of computer simulations of possible drugs within hours and can test their interactions with biological components and other drugs. It greatly reduces the time, risk, and cost of developing new, life-saving medications, and could not be accomplished without relying on modern supercomputing facilities. Yet, knowing what to test and interpreting the resultig data produced is still a human task, and requires a new kind of creativity, practice, and instinct that is different, but not less than, the old methods.

However, some might argue, what about artificial intellegence? Sure we are using the technology to open up new creative avenues today, but what about tomorrow when AI's are able to perform surgeries on people or translate human speech? The evolution of artificial intellegence is certainly changing the nature of a lot of human skills, but there are still people masterminding the coding of the AI, a task which also requires great mental acuity and skill! The playing field is changing, but people are always going to need to adapt and apply themselves in a new, more innovative ways, and will gain the ability to solve problems we may not even percieve today.

Thus, I believe technology is creating novel paths forward for us. These will not resemble the old paths, and there are definitely skills that will become obselete and will fall into disuse. However, the tradeoff for greater future possibilities and the new skills that will have to be acquired means that our mental faculties will not deteriorate, just transform.